Meet the Team

Open Lab is an ever evolving team brimming with talent. We are staffed by design professionals, recent graduates and interns, with direct access to consulting academics from Massey University.

Profile image for Katie Baptiste Profile image for Katie Baptiste

Katie Baptiste


A designer and an academic, Katie delivers unprecedented insights, creating value from concise, creative concepts. Prior to Open Lab, Katie’s love for vehicles lead her to become the Lead Colour & Materials Designer for Jaguar, having previously worked for Bentley and VW/Audi. With over 15 years industry experience ranging from the UK to the USA, Katie’s knowledge of enterprise within design and innovative design makes her a sought after Creative Director.

Profile image for Michael Kelly Profile image for Michael Kelly

Michael Kelly

Principal Designer

Michael is our Principal Designer with over 10 years experience within the print and digital design landscape. Michael has worked for a number of Wellington design studios including Samdog, Gusto Design and Airplane Studios where he has worked on projects in both the corporate and government sectors. Key clients he has worked on include: Etu (New Zealand’s biggest private sector union), the Ministries of Education, Health and Social Development, the Civil Aviation Authority, and the New Zealand Fire Service, to name a few.

Profile image for Sarah Ny Profile image for Sarah Ny

Sarah Ny

Senior Designer

A graduate of Massey University, Sarah has worked as a print and web designer in her hometown of Wellington for over seven years. Her industry experience includes various design studios, public sector, and freelance work. A stint with Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu (The Correspondence School) sparked an enthusiasm for education, leading her full circle to Open Lab as our Senior Designer. She enjoys the mentoring aspect where she can pass on her broad industry knowledge to the students.

Profile image for Mary Faber Profile image for Mary Faber

Mary Faber

Senior Designer

One of Open Lab’s new Senior Designers, Mary combines a strategic mindset with a sharp eye to develop visually engaging and well-crafted design. After working as a font designer in London, Mary returned to New Zealand and co-founded the design studio Faber & Lo. Mary specialises in brand development and typography, and has presented her academic design research at both local and international conferences.

Profile image for Connah Hazelwood Profile image for Connah Hazelwood

Connah Hazelwood

Junior Designer

A recent graduate from Massey University, Connah was quickly snapped up by Open Lab as we were drawn to her positive attitude and quirky design style. Connah’s studies focused on social change and continues to provoke people’s thoughts and perceptions through design.

Profile image for Jennah Rasmussen Profile image for Jennah Rasmussen

Jennah Rasmussen

Studio Manager

Jennah has worked within film production in New Zealand, Asia and Europe over the last 10 years. Starting as a Production Coordinator at Weta Digital, progressing to Production Manager at MPC to ultimately become Open Lab’s Studio Manager. She’s worked on films including Avatar, Prometheus, Harry Potter and The Lovely Bones. At Open Lab Jennah has built long-standing relationships with the Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington City Council and NZ Post.

Profile image for Shana Alcorn Profile image for Shana Alcorn

Shana Alcorn

Business Administrator

Shana loves maths, which is just as well as she takes care of all our finances. She has over 20 years of experience, working in a variety of accounting roles in a wide range of industries. Within the Design industry she’s been the Assistant Financial Controller at The Brand Union, and Assistant Company Accountant at WPP Group plc, both in London. Her main interests are management accounting, reconciliations and process improvement. As well as working at Open Lab three days a week, Shana is (finally!) studying towards her Bachelor of Accountancy at Massey University. She is also an artist who makes sculptures, paintings, photographs and music.

Profile image for Larissa Banks Profile image for Larissa Banks

Larissa Banks

Studio Coordinator

Larissa loves people, a good challenge, and having multiple projects on the go. Her experience includes public sector, local government, manufacturing and wholesaling in the jewellery trade, and communications. A Massey graduate who majored in Textile Design, Larissa has a passion for pattern, fabric manipulation, digital and screen print. When she’s not coordinating the Studio, Larissa works in sustainable fashion, finding creative solutions to reduce waste in the fashion industry.

These are alumni and contributors who have worked with us over the years. We are proud of the emerging designers who are now making their mark on the industry. We think these are names to watch for in the future!

Carly Hitchcock

Chris Ashton

Hannah Maney

Jay Hall

Jeremy Hooper

Kristine Zipfel

Luiggi Riccio

Luuk Abernethy

Priscilla Howe

Raph Roake